Never Give Up Your Cup of Stars

by Danielle

I was an easily terrified child, and as a result, I never consumed much horror fiction. It’s only been within the past few years that I’ve built up enough of a tolerance for it to enjoy it. It started with Lovecraft because I find myself very interested in elder gods and while Lovecraft’s stories are frequently creepy (and often racist), I never found them scary. From Lovecraft, though, I went to Shirley Jackson.

I could tell you, I suppose, about We Have Always Lived in the Castle and its possibly-murderous, reclusive sisters. Others will be sure to think of “The Lottery,” which despite having had a public school education I don’t think I’ve ever read, something I should rectify immediately. But it’s The Haunting of Hill House that captured my heart.

Read more at Luna Station Quarterly!

